image 13
Video Games

79 Enlightenments in Shadow of the Colossus Remastered

The remastered version of the iconic game, Shadow of the Colossus, has more than just a fresh coat of paint. It also introduces a new puzzle for players to solve, hidden amongst its vast landscapes. This new addition is called “Enlightenments” or as some players refer to them, “Gold Coins”. They have stirred up quite a buzz among the gaming community, adding a new layer to the already rich and immersive world of the game.

The original game is renowned for its exploration of the sprawling, deserted landscapes and the titanic Colossi. The remaster not only maintains this captivating narrative but further extends it with the addition of these hidden Enlightenments.

The Legacy of the Colossi

The central theme of Shadow of the Colossus revolves around defeating 16 towering creatures known as the Colossi. However, the original version also introduced players to two optional collectables – the Fruit Trees and the Lizard Tails. These collectables, when found, would increase your health and stamina gauges respectively.

image 14

The remastered version retains these collectables, providing players with an opportunity to enhance their characters while revisiting the well-loved game. But that’s not all; there’s a new collectable on the block – the Enlightenments. It’s this mysterious third type of collectable that has sparked a new wave of interest in the game.

The Enigma of the Enlightenments

The Enlightenments, unlike the Fruit Trees and Lizard Tails, do not offer an immediate reward. The real prize lies in gathering all 79 of them. The number of Enlightenments you’ve collected is reflected in the bottom corner of your map screen, incrementing with each discovery.

The number 79 is an intriguing reference to a message in the end credits, “Nomad Colossus and the 79 steps to enlightenment”. Nomad Colossus is a celebrated member of the Shadow of the Colossus secret-hunting community. The developer, Bluepoint, pays homage to this community and its most prominent member with this mysterious challenge.

Unearthing the Reward – The Sword of Dormin

Collecting all 79 Enlightenments might seem like a mammoth task, especially considering that there’s no immediate in-game notification to acknowledge this achievement. However, the fruits of this laborious endeavour lie within the starting temple area of the game.

Once all the Enlightenments are collected, a glowing wall appears in the temple. Players must pray in front of it, in a similar fashion to praying at a shrine, which then opens a path to a hidden cavern. This cavern holds an ethereal altar and a hovering sword – the Sword of Dormin.

The Sword of Dormin is named after the enigmatic entity that guides the protagonist, Wander, throughout his journey. Wielding this sword, however, comes with a cost. While it significantly boosts damage output, it diminishes health regeneration. It serves as a potent tool for taking down the Colossi faster, although by the time you’ve collected all the Enlightenments and likely completed the game multiple times, its practicality is up for debate.

An Unfinished Mystery?

This game’s enigmatic nature and the introduction of Enlightenments have led players to speculate further secrets. Might there be more to the Sword of Dormin than meets the eye? Could there be yet another hidden secret, much like the mysteries that shrouded the original game on the PS2?

As of now, the Sword of Dormin appears to be the only reward for collecting all the Enlightenments. However, given the game’s history and reputation for secrecies, it wouldn’t be a surprise if more mysteries were waiting to be unearthed, but this is probably the last secret in my opinion. One thing’s for sure, the hunt for Enlightenments has breathed new life into this remastered classic, continuing the legacy of Shadow of the Colossus as a game that keeps players intrigued, excited and coming back for more.

About the author

Tom Henry

I worked as a PM in video games, now I'm trying some new things.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment